Art should be a compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the value of art classes in high school has been acknowledged by educational experts in modern society, many people believe that art should be a compulsory class. I support this idea because art classes help high school students to develop skills that academic subjects do not.

Firstly, art classes should be required in high school because they allow students to express their emotions indirectly. Artistic activities are uniquely useful since they help students to show their emotions to others indirectly through methods that cannot be communicated verbally. For example, many students can draw pictures that reveal their emotional connections with their friends, family members, and school life even if they cannot discuss these issues more directly through their words. In contrast, there is no opportunity for students to appropriately express their emotions in academic classes, so art classes offer students a beneficial alternative to academic subjects. Therefore, it is clear that the high school curriculum should include art classes as a basic requirement because students need to have an indirect way to express their emotions through artistic activities like drawing.

Moreover, art classes should be mandatory because they provide students with a chance to discover non-academic talents. Since students spend most of their time at school learning traditional subjects like math and science, students who have artistic talent may not have a chance to discover this ability. In this respect, making art classes compulsory will ensure that students receive a well-rounded education by encouraging them to continually find and develop handicraft skills such as painting and sculpting which can become helpful to them in the future. Therefore, even if students do not have artistic talent, participating in art classes in high school should be required because all students need to develop a broad understanding of non-academic skills.

To sum up, it is undeniable that art classes should be included in the high school curriculum because they allow students to express their emotions indirectly and find their non-academic talents.