Art should be a compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that art class ought to be a compulsory lesson for secondary school students. They claim that art is significantly needed for secondary students due to its outstanding education style. This agree agrees that art class is necessary in a curriculum in high school since it provides students a distinct styles of access to improve their motivations and art class can give a time to relax for the students who are tired of studying the stressful subjects such as Mathematics or Chemistry.

To begin with, art class can lead students to the way to understand the true meaning of pieces which can motivate them. It is a well-known fact that the world of art can represent a plenty of things such as historical facts, emotional expression and so on. For example, a high school in Toronto displayed a picture that Canadian indigenous people drew a long time ago in art class, the students are encouraged to explore more about the groups related to indigenous natives by doing a volunteer to help the indigenous who are economically and physically neglected from the society. As this shows, learning art can be helpful to not only the students, but also the ones who are affected by them.

Moreover, art lessons can give a beneficial time to students so that they are able to get away from fatigue and tiresome in a school day. Many experts believe that having a class such as art in the students’ timetable can recover their stamina, which is necessary for the next classes. To illustrate, a study conducted by University of California, Berkeley, described that 73.2 per cent of the students responded that taking an art class was beneficial for their timetable schedule with the comfort and interest that the class provides. This clearly demonstrated that the significant of art should be more increased as the major subjects like Mathematics or Physics which are the most undesirable subjects to students.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the positive effects of involving art in school curriculum is considerable as it can provoke secondary school students to be motivated with the appreciation of the works and the benefits in terms of supplying a relax and a comfort to the students who are tired by high school lives. For these reasons, I believe art class must be a compulsory class for secondary school students.