the use of e-books is increasing , what is the advantages and disadvantages

Electronic books have become increasingly popular in this modern age due to technological advancements. And like other innovations it has its pros and cons, which will be highlighted in this essay.

One of the most notable advantage of e-books is its portability. It is easier to move around with over a hundred e-books in a single device, such as the kindle than to carry that same number as hard cover books. So, if a reader is outside their home and loses interest in the current book they are with, they can easily switch to reading a different book on their device instead of waiting to get home to their collection of physical books. It also occupies much less physical storage space than hardcover books do. And unlike hardcover books which can get lost, e-books can be backed up safely into the cloud so it is accessible from any device anywhere in the world. It is also much easier to build a large library given that soft copy books are generally more affordable to their hardcover counterparts. e-books are also not subject to the wear and tear hardcover books tend to experience as time goes on.

For the down sides to e-books, users can get easily distracted because of its portability and numerous book options. Instead of enjoying the company of others and being present in conversations and activities, some people tend to use it as a form of escape. Also prolonged screen time has detrimental effects on the eyes and brain and Lastly if these files are not properly stored and backed up on a device with antivirus they can be corrupted or even get lost, if the device is attacked by malware.

In conclusion, e-books are quite advantageous but possess some shortcomings which should be weighed by the intending user before deciding if it is a worthy investment or not.