"Artificial intelligence is increasingly being used in fields such as medicine, education, and law. While some believe this will improve outcomes in these fields, others worry it will replace human professionals entirely. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

Artificial intelligence has seen a huge leap in trend in recent times. It has been applied in a variety of fields, a few examples are medicine, education, and law. However, this has also sparked a debate, where one side argues that it will improve outcomes across all fields, while the other side argues that it will replace human professionals as a whole. I believe that it is not the case, as the rise of AI would instead be a motivator for people to improve their skills everyday. This essay will discuss the two sides in the debate, and closed by my personal thoughts related to this matter.

On one hand, the increasing amount of AI usage in job fields certainly poses a considerable threat to certain jobs, as it presents companies the opportunity to replace humans with AI for certain positions in the company. This increases the number of jobless people in the population, which weakens economy as a whole. Eventually, large companies will also collapse, as buying power will constantly decrease along with the decrease of workfields, which leads to a collapse of the world’s system. A prominent example in the current time is the phenomenon where companies are reducing the number of artists in their team as they consider these artists replaceable by AI. Critics would argue that this simply isn’t true, as AI cannot replace a human, it is merely providing assistance with work. However, these critics failed to account for the many manifestations of this issue that are not to be ignored.

On the other hand, it is true that AI has shown clear advantages on how it improves outcomes for various fields. A manifestation of this that is worth noting is in the medical field, where AI has significantly improved the process of detecting early signs of illnesses through machine learning to be quicker and more accurate. This signs that AI could instead bring positive impact to the world by improving existing fields, and even potentially creating new jobs, which negates the risks of people losing their source of income because of AI. Opposition may argue that AI are replacing humans at a disturbingly rapid pace, however, this is resolved by the new workfields created by AI. Furthermore, it could be argued that the business world has always been dynamic and ever-changing, and AI is just a catalyst for another change, similar to the industrial revolution.

My stance in this debate is that the rise of AI is inevitable, and it is instead the people that must change their way of thinking. Before the insurgence of AI, the job market has been quite stagnant; people settle for their current skills without trying to improve it. However, AI has given way for a more dynamic job market, which forces people to improve everyday. This proves to be an effective way to provide much needed fuel for improvements and innovations, aas well as decelerating brain function decline, as studies suggest. Therefore, people should try to upgrade their skills through any means possible, instead of constantly worrying about AI.