Artificial intelligence is now used in everyday life, such as in smartphones, online shopping, and customer service. Do the advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often pointed out that robots and artificial intelligence have gradually integrated into our societies. In my opinion, the benefits are greater than the drawbacks because they are effective alternatives to reduce the burden of younger generations and contribute to safety.

One major drawback is that robots and AI pose serious threads to many workers because most tasks can be done by them and they potentially replace employees. The features of vulnerable workers are lack of knowledge and skills and they are exposed to displacement. AI can memorize vast amount of data and calculate rapidly, and thus employers would rely on robots and AI. Additionally, they can work for 24 hours without rest with no salary, being able to reduce financial resources for human.

On the other hand, one major benefit is that robots and AI can play an essential role in shrinking working-age population by providing workforce and creative ideas. Most developed countries are experiencing a rapid decline in younger generations, leading to chronic labor shortages. In particularly, aging societies usually suffer from lack of employees for work required to have power and creativity. Robots and AI can do physically demanding and creative tasks, respectively, which compensate for the decreasing number of younger workers.

Another positive aspect is that such cutting-edge technology could ensure safety in a wide range of fields. Autonomous driving systems realized by AI significantly enhance the safety of drivers, reducing the number of accidents. Moreover, latest CCTV cameras can identify individuals based on personal information, contributing to arrest perpetrators and serving as deterrents to crime. In addition, these can provide compelling and reliable evidence for investigations and promote them.

In conclusion, although technology can replace human beings, it brings benefits, including compensation for shrinking labor force and improvement in safety.