Artificial intelligence tools are becoming increasingly popular worldwide. Some people argue that children should start learning to code in primary school to keep up. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As AI-powered technologies are gaining popularity globally, people begin to consider acquiring their children programming skills from first years of schooling. While coding can develop logical thinking, I believe gaining this knowledge is not necessary for elementary school pupils.

On the one hand, learning to code from an early age helps children to keep up with technological advances and improve their problem-solving and logical-thinking skills. These abilities can be useful not only in the technical fields but also in other academic disciplines. For example, children who understand programming better could achieve higher results in mathematics and even science. Because, these fields need calculating and analysis. These kinds of positive results create the desire to learn coding from the former age of primary school.

On the other hand, pupils should be aware of fundamental circumstances before being introduced to more specialized subjects. There are main disciplines like literature, cursive writing and social skills which should be considered the first blocks of educational development. They are always predominant in any other skills, otherwise people might get confused or have difficulties in their future lives. For example, study shows that most top-tier people who reached their goals are socially competent and literate. They know how to communicate and also how to attract people with appropriate language. Eventually, everything should be followed by steps, and introducing computer programming abilities at the primary-school level could be too difficult.

In conclusion, although early learning to code from an early age offers tremendous opportunities, I believe that it should not be compulsory subject in primary schools.