As a part of their education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that as parts of education, students should spend a period time living in another country to learn its language and culture. In my opinion, I partially agree with this view. In this essay, I will explain why.

On one hand, living in another country brings a lot of advantages for students. First of all, it helps them enhance their language skills. By this I mean, when they live in a foreign country, they have more opportunities to learn a new language because students are surrounded by native people. As a consequence, students can practise communicating with others in real life instead of only through textbooks or the Internet. Second, living in another country also helps students understand more about a different culture. It makes sense that when they live abroad, they have more opportunities to interact with local people and take part in the daily activities. Therefore, they can broaden their horizons and gain better knowledge of local customs and lifestyles.

On the other hand, living in another country also has many shortcomings for students. Firtsly, the living cost in the foreign country is very high. Thus, it is difficult for them if they do not have enough money when they live abroad. Secondly, living in another country can cause culture shock for students. It means that when they live in another country, it is difficult for students to adapt to a new lifestyles and different culture. For instance, the way local people communicate, eat or study in foreign country can be extremely different from the way they do in their country. As a result, they can feel stressed, uncomfortable and even homesick when they live abroad.

In conclusion, the reasons have been explained above. Personally, I think that living in a foreign country has both benefits and drawbacks so that students should think carefully before deciding to live abroad.