As a part of their education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a matter of persistent debate whether or not students should temporarily live in a foreign country as part of school programs to study non-native languages and customs. Although I acknowledge the merits of allowing youths to learn in an authentic environment, I am firm in the belief that the idea entails several drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are certain benefits to be reaped from international learning. Firstly, studying abroad deepens students’ knowledge of language and culture. By providing them with a natural environment suited to their studies, pupils will gain more exposure as well as fuller experiences than in plain classroom settings. Traveling to another nation encourages interaction with natives, which enhances language acquisition, and directly experiencing foreign customs promotes respect and understanding and broadens students’ horizons. Furthermore, the opportunity to study in a different country boosts the ability to adapt to unfamiliar settings. Temporarily living abroad amplifies the need to familiarize oneself with alien surroundings, prompting coping skills and resilience in students.

Conversely, I strongly believe that studying in a foreign country engenders negative effects. To begin with, traversing to a foreign nation may cause vulnerable students cultural shock and homesickness. Unknown environments provoke negative emotions, and given the pupils’ impressionable age, may heighten the influence of the aforementioned feelings on them. This dulls effective studying and limits the knowledge acquired. For instance, one can be overwhelmed by drastic changes in scenery to the point that it affects their learning progress. Secondly, the costs of overseas trips can be astronomical, affecting financial situations. Managing expenditures for international travel will impose a heavy burden on the students’ families as they must cover expenses from flight fees to schooling and accommodation.

In conclusion, although I concede the beneficial values of learning internationally for a period of time, I opine that the notion contains more adverse effects than positive effects. Students should opt for more affordable and convenient methods of studying different languages and traditions.