As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is an growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

In the contemporary era, traveling by plane has gained more and more popularity. Due to the development of tourism and a considerable number of people traveling, the increase in flights is an essential demand, resulting in a diversity of debilitating effects on the environment. However, there are numerous solutions that can be addressed to this complex issue.

Several problems can be anticipated when the quantities of flights rise significantly. One of the most adverse impacts on the environment is the air quality degradation. Airplanes release large amounts of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which results in air pollution. As a consequence, it causes lots of harm to human health such as lung disease or heart problems. Additionally, climate change is also another concern. The greenhouse gasses coming from aircraft’s machines cause not only the dramatic rise of sea level but also the unpredictable weather. This leads to more floods in some specific areas all over the world.

Notwithstanding, effective strategies can be taken to deal with the obstacles. Primarily, the fossil fuel used for plane’s engines should be replaced by alternative energy to cut down on pollutants. Furthermore, the authorities can enact a law to raise the taxation whenever people travel by air transport. If the cost for air travel is excessively high, an influx of people will choose to go on a journey by private vehicles.

In conclusion, although the growing demand for flights brings about various negative aspects to the environment, there are lots of useful steps such as utilizing green energy or requiring heavy tax on air travel to tackle the problem.