As cities are experiencing problems related to land to construct new housing and offices, some people say that government should do new developments in the countryside areas. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested by some people to construct new residential as well as commercial buildings on the land available in rural areal rather than in the cities, which are already under pressure to meet the rising demand of land. However, I believe this solution would lead some problems, therefore it needs to be explored.

The main reason due to which the new developments should not be done in the countryside areas, is country may have to face problems related to producing food. Land in these areas is already allocated to grow crops, new developments would require this land to the repurposed for construction, creating a shortage of farmland, which is likely further create shortage of food, irrigation and other problems.

Additionally, Cities are already known for their pollution, traffic and other problems related to hygiene. Trying to distribute the population evenly by alluring people to stay in the village with the construction of new offices and residential units would also bring these problems faced by cities to the village. Then people would have nowhere to escape the pollution and enjoy the life close to nature which is very important to well-being.

Therefore, rather than destroying the beautiful landscape of the countryside area, city planners should try to use the land available in urban areas more efficiently. This can be done by allocating these spaces to construct multi-units buildings, containing multiple houses or offices, rather than single units. This is likely to make the homes and offices available for wider population without affecting nature or farmland.

In conclusion, I believe, the solution to use the land available in village for developments of new facilities is short-sighted and does not consider the negative impacts. Therefore, it should be abandoned and other possibilities to meet the housing demand in cities should be explored.