As cities become more crowded, some believe high-rise buildings are the best solutions, while others think expanding into rural areas is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, as the global population continues to surge in big cities, the discussion surrounding wether living in high-rise buildings or expanding into rural area has gained considerable attention. However, in my opinion, I believe that these two factors has its own advantages and disadvantages which will be laid out in this essay.

To begin with, in this rapidly human population growth era, high-rise buildings offers a practical solution as it allows cities to house vast amount of pople in small area. Vertical development in big cities will further deter urban sprawl which can consume valuable land and its precious resources, thereby resulting in effective land use. For instance, Malaysia is expected to experience a significant population growth in the foreseeable future.

Moreover, high-rise buildings are more appealing and aesthetically pleasing to the future potential residents who are looking for a specific urban experience, such as younger generations who are gravitating towards city living experience instead of living in a suburban single-family homes. The mixed-use development potential of high-rise buildings offer the chance to cater even more needs.

While high-rise buildings offers some solutions, it is also imperative to consider the potentials in living in rural areas. Firstly, the cost of living in rural areas are considerably lower in compared to the urban centres, where houses are much affordable and bigger. This gives residents financial advantage to live a better quality of life as more disposable income can be spent on leisure activities.

To sum up, I believe that the advantages of high-rise buildings outweigh the advantages of settling into rural areas.