As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for environment?

Since nations develop, more and more individuals purchase and use their private automobiles. I think the advantages of this trend do not outweigh the disadvantages. Although cars provide time flexibility and comfortable interior, fumes from these vehicles can lead to greenhouse effect and air pollution.

On the one hand, there is a compelling argument asserting the notion that having cars is more flexible in time than using public transportation. People can travel or commute to work freely without waiting for a bus for long hours. Another point worth noting is that individuals might have better experience during the journey. Privately-owned vehicles are equipped with more comfortable interiors, so people will not have the feeling of discomfort. Modern research has shown that most individuals prefer travelling by cars to other vehicles as they can relax when they travel.

Conversely, there is a persuasive counter argument supporting the idea that fumes from cars lead to greenhouse effect. When greenhouse gases are released, they will be trapped into the atmosphere and cause global warming. What is more, cars can release exhaust emission which harms the environment. This vehicle exhaustion will lead to air pollution. As a consequence, it might take a toll on human’s wellbeing since more individuals have to suffer diseases related to respiratory systems like asthma and lung cancer.

To sum up, although automobiles provide time flexibility and a comfortable interior, fumes from this vehicle can lead to greenhouse effect and air pollution. From my perspective, the advantages of this trend do not outweigh the disadvantages.