As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for environment?

There is a growing trend that private car ownership is increasing due to the revolution of nations, contributing to superior time management it brings to human life. Despite these personal benefits, negative impacts—increased air pollution—can far outweigh its advantages.

One primary benefit of private car ownership to individuals is its capacity to achieve better time management. People, especially those with hectic schedules, can eliminate transport-related problems when they have their own vehicles, allowing them to be more punctual. For example, one of my friends who used to be late for important business meetings because of waiting for her bus has turned to being responsible with time after she bought a car. Thus, having private transport can seem to be beneficial to our professional settings, enabling us to gain better time management.

However, one concerning issue associated with increased car ownership is the potential to wreak havoc on the environment. A rise in car sales and usage contributes significantly to air quality, leading whole societies to live under polluted atmospheres. For example, according to the New York Times, in cities, private cars have been found to be responsible for the highest amount of pollution, next to manufacturing factories. Moreover, having a ripple effect, it can even cause the spread of infectious diseases, with serious implications for the lungs and a nerve system. Hence, the increased personal car ownership has greater disadvantages compared to its benefits.

In conclusion, while a growing sales and usage of personal cars can provide a unique benefit, such as an increase in time efficiency, its threat to the environment, particularly on air, can be more pronounced.