As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

In this contemporary society, an increasing number of individuals tend to buy private cars. While there are multiple advantages of buying cars, such as convenience and meeting demands, I believe that the disadvantages of purchasing personal cars, such as air pollution and crowded traffic, outweigh its advantages.

On the one hand, one of the foremost disadvantages of this trend is air pollution. Given that air pollution comes mostly from the use of various means of transportation, this growing trend of personal car usage contributes to pollution significantly. For instance, research conducted all around the world suggests that air pollution is at a high level in developing countries compared to others, due to a high rate of personal car ownership. Additionally, the increasing trend of private car ownership can lead to crowded traffic. To meet the demand, individuals tend to purchase private cars, which leads to crowded traffic. For instance, statistics from the USA government show that New York City is one of the loudest city with non-stop traffic and car alarms in the world.

On the other hand, one of the primary advantages of purchasing a personal car is convenience. To meet the demand for things, such as convenience and being everywhere on time individuals tend to purchase private cars. For instance, according to the survey taken of individuals from different categories, people are more likely to purchase private cars, due to convenience.

In conclusion, although there are considerably significant advantages of this trend, in my opinion, disadvantages of this situation outweigh its advantages.