As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

The increase in buying cars has become the matter of an ongoing discussion. While some people see vehicles as a convenient way to simplify our lives and increase our productivity, the others understand that despite all the benefits of cars, there is a potential danger for our planet from the usage of them.

On the one hand, having your own car brings us a complete independence and saves our time, because for many trips, driving is faster and more direct than taking a bus or train, directly saving time on your daily commute. Moreover, during extreme cold, heavy rain, or severe winter weather, personal vehicle provides somewhat of a weather protection, where you can avoid unpleasant forecasts and reach your destination comfortably.

There is the other side of a coin that most of an automobile’s environmental impact comes from fuel consumption and emissions, leading to global problems such as air pollution and greenhouse gases, which are driving global warming. The first reason is that transport emits a multitude of toxic products, for instance carbon dioxide or monoxide, which, in the long run, affect the environment, endanger our health, jeopardize our national security, and threaten other basic human needs. A case in point is that the transportation sector, which includes cars, trucks, buses and so on, produces nearly thirty percent of all global warming emissions, admittedly, more than almost any other factor.

In conclusion, while cars became one of the greatest inventions for our productivity and convenience, it led to some negative outcomes for our planet. From my perspective, the disadvantages cars’ usage outweigh the advantages, because the cost we pay is extremely higher than the benefits we receive.