As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

In many developing countries, an increasing number of individuals tend to buy and use their own cars. In this essay, I will discuss whether the benefits for individuals outweigh the negative impacts on the environment.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that owning a car is more efficient than using public transportation in some countries. This is because people can travel anywhere they want without having to wait, which is often time-consuming. Thus, it is more time-saving for those who are in a hurry. Moreover, there is a lack of access to public transportation in many areas. Therefore, people need to spend more money, which is inefficient. For instance, a large number of people in Indonesia prefer to own cars rather than use public transportation because it is mainly accessible in large cities such as Jakarta.

On the other hand, when individuals prefer to own their own vehicles, this can harm the environment. Moreover, climate change has become a critical global issue. If this issue is not addressed immediately, it could severely damage the world. For example, research shows that pollution in Southeast Asia is extremely concerning, and one of the solutions is to reduce the number of vehicles.

In conclusion, the advantages of owning personal cars do not outweigh the serious problem of environmental damage. Although having their own cars can be more effective, there are highly significant issues that must be addressed, such as climate change.