As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals are of the opinion that since the demand of having a place to live is fundamental for many people, governments who are invariably in charge of their citizens’ lives should subsidize free housing projects for everyone who is needy. Despite its undeniable merits, I believe that providing all less well-off people with accommodations for free is elusive.

Admittedly, the emergence of public housing for the homeless can undoubtedly enhance the quality of people’s lives. This is because, in this day and age, the rapidly increasing population in many countries has, as a result, raised the demand for a place to live considerably. In addition to inflation, financial problems have long been one of the main factors that hinder people from less affluent backgrounds from purchasing a house, resulting in the current issue of lacking accommodations. Anecdotal evidence of this can be observed in the case of India where numerous Indian residents resorted to getting by in slums located at many corners of the most renowned metropolises. Thus, by enacting free housing policies, governments can curb the increasing homeless rate in their nations.

Nevertheless, governments’ implementation of a program subsidizing free housing may not be practical. The construction of public accommodations for needy people necessitates large vacant areas, so those in power may need to reallocate lands planned for other purposes to build these new houses. This reallocation can have an adverse effect on other fields, such as education and medical sectors, hindering the overall development of the nation. For example, suppose the government converts all their vacant areas to construct houses for poor people. In that case, there will be no places left for building schools or hospitals, negatively affecting not only local residents but also the nation. Therefore, the potential drawbacks would overshadow the benefits.

In conclusion, even though the policy of providing housing without any expenses can enhance people’s lives, I believe that the negative impact on many other sectors should not be underestimated.