As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that governments should provide free houses for everyone as housing is a fundamental need for people. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this suggestion based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

Providing free accommodation for individuals can optimize a person’ living quality, especially the homeless, and foster a sense of security because they don’t have to suffer from harsh weather conditions or social crimes. Vietnamese policymakers have recently constructed community housing, accompanied with social welfare for anyone who has financial disabilities in mega cities to eliminate the homelessness rates. This wise policy not only aids increase overall life satisfaction but also serves as a platform for showcasing a nation’s cohesion to the world, enhancing its prestige and global influence. However, it only holds true for short-term growth, financial burden on the government is more alarming.

If governmental investment in building community accomodation is increasingly promoted, officials are likely to face finance-related challenges, leading to the insufficient funding allocation for healthcare or education. The US, one of the most economically prosperous countries, serves as a prime instance of this concern. Due to the decreasing economic growth in recent years, the US’s officials has abandoned free houses for the less fortunate people and provided financil support to but house, instead. The government believes that shifting focus from housing to other social services such as investing in medical treatmenr or schools can guarantee a person’s holistic development and higher- quality workforce, closely correlating with the betterment of a nation.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that although providing free accommodation may optimize people’s living quality incertain extent, governments can heavily suffer from financial burden. Addressing these challenges requires concerted efforts of many external bodies to implement proper housing policy to booster society’s progress and development.