As launguages such as English, Spanish and Madarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

In recent years, as globalization has emerged, some languages have become an inevitable fraction in our daily lives. This trend has sparked concern among the general public, regarding the fate of local languages. Many believe that minor languages are at risk of permanently fading away. In order to stop this tendency governments decided to take action to preserve the purity of languages. In the following paragraphs, this issue will be explored and concluded with a viewpoint.

To begin with, history has shown that the disappearance of certain languages is a fatal point in humankind. While some languages become more widely spoken, others eventually vanish out of daily use. For example, Latin has become an extinct language due to the fall of the Roman Empire, the place where the language has initially started. Furthermore, particular languages and dialects merge due to numerous factors like globalization, cultural and religious assimilation. Therefore, I believe that extinction of some languages may not be as deteriorating as some people may assume.

On the other hand, I believe that certain measures have to be taken to preserve less popular languages. For instance, integrating more language-focused subjects at schools may have a beneficial effect on protection of local languages. Furthermore, production and distribution of different sources of media and art in native language is believed to create a better environment for the growth and prosperity of less spoken languages. Finally, encouraging younger generations to learn their native language first before the preferred lingua franca is the greatest way of protecting local languages. Via this pattern individuals in the future may prevent greater knowledge loss.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that some languages will eventually disappear: however, there are countless ideas and actions which may help stop the process of language deterioration on a more local level.