As many cities are lacking living space, some people suggest that universities should be relocated to rural areas. What is your opinion on this?

There is an ongoing trend in which the shortage of living spaces has become a major issue, leading to some proposals removing universities to rural regions. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am inclined to disagree with this view.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many cities suggest relocating universities to the countryside due to a variety of factors. Firstly, many of them feel comfortable when studying in a quieter environment. For example, the college in villages often offer spacious study areas and a more affordable atmosphere, which might improve student’s concentration and well-being. Secondly, the demand for universities moving to the countryside could free up valuable space for urban inhabitants and commercial development. This is because many citizens struggle with housing shortage and high living cost, so the changing number of universities’ area could act as a precursor to reduce this problem, thereby boosting the local economy and creating space living for residents.

On the other hand, there are various compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that the growing popularity of university in the village could be fraught with pitfalls. One rationale is that universities require extensive infrastructure which might not be available in the countryside. In fact, that research facility could require a huge cost and time consumption, leading to a deterioration in universities’ quality. Another justification is that the suggestion of replacing universities from cities to villages is causing disturbance to young individuals. For example, most universities in Hanoi city have facilitated a diverse and stimulating environment that fosters students to gain new insight on their fields and would be lost for those who choose to study in the remote universities.

In conclusion, although it is irrefutable that this trend in relocating universities to rural areas could help address issues of living space and academic quality, I do believe that the downside of this trend is more noteworthy than the upside.