As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is a popular belief that cultural identity will be completely demolished due to globalization. I wholeheartedly agree with this point of view; I firmly believe that globalization has significant drawbacks. Globalization leads to the extinction of unique languages and unification of beauty standards.

Firstly, globalization inevitably leads to finding common language and that is a high risk for local dialects. People tend to prioritize global languages due to the opportunities to find a job or get an education in more developed region. It is a major concern in my homeland. Younger generations from northern republics of Russia try to move to the capital city and refuse to learn local languages finding them useless in their future careers.

Secondly, the main globalization instrument is undoubtedly the global web, which imposes unified European-oriented beauty standards. The pictures of perfect appearance promoted by social media are not naturally applicable for every nationality. Women often damage their health deciding to have plastic surgery or use lots of harmful skin whitening creams to match the unrealistic global trends instead of being proud of their ethnical features. It is a trend in my social circle as well; rhinoplasty is a common service in Moscow clinics among girls from southern regions of the country in their twenties.

To sum up, although there is no doubt that globalization has its benefits, in my opinion, preserving unique cultural identities is more paramount than unifying the world, due to the possibility of preserving endangered languages and one-of-a-kind beauty of every nationality.