As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is believed that societies are growing more alike to each other due to the growth of transport and communication, leading to a circumstance known as globalization. In addition, the feeling of fear and anxiety accumulates in people over time, owing to the total loss of cultural identity that globalization is causing. This study completely agrees towards the statement with the notion that the overdosage of globalization leads to the inability of younger generations to study cultures and the influence of modern trends that negatively affect younger generations.

The overuse of globalization may negatively impact younger generations towards studying their cultural origins, thus leading to the slow loss of cultural identity. In today’s era, almost every region of the world has succumbed to globalization, changing the way people act and think including how younger generations study. In addition, the difference in the method of studying differs from decade to decade, which causes the younger generations to neglect studying their culture. As an example, the teenagers in Indonesia (better known as Gen Alpha) have little to no knowledge of their culture such as Wayang Kulit or Ondel-Ondel because they neglect to study about it and are more inclined into following modern trends such as Tik Tok.

As mentioned before, the influence of modern trends play a role towards the younger generation’s cultural identity. Nowadays, media is almost accessible in all regions of the world, even managing to reach Africa and Antarctica, which used to have little to no connection to the outside world. Although this may seem positive, there is also a dangerous side effect. Furthermore, the influence of media entertainment can cause harmful effects towards younger generations, such as trends that are unsuitable for young ages. To illustrate this, a trend named “The Knife Game” became popular back in 2018, with people attempting to stab a knife in between their fingers while recording themselves. Consequently, causing injuries that end up landing them to the hospital.

In conclusion, globalization not only provide positive effects towards society, but also harmful ones that have the potential to diminish cultural identities. This can be further seen with the overdosage of globalization that leads to the inability of younger generations to study cultures and the influence of modern trends that negatively affect them, each having a negative effect.