As people live longer and longer, the idea of cloning human beings in order to provide spare parts is becoming a reality. The idea horrifies most people, yet it is no longer mere science fiction.

Today, cloning of human beings is an important discourse in our world as people live longer and longer. While some embrace the idea of cloning humans for spare parts, other are terrified by it. I disagree with the suggestion of cloning humans for spare parts.

One of the reasons why some believed in the cloning is because of organ donation. When people aged and their organs no longer function well, a cloned organ can be used. Organ donors are scarce this day, and cloning will serve this purpose. Scientist has recorded some successes with cloning animals, therefore many claim cloning will be possible and serve a greater good. For instance, diseases like diabetic and hypertension that affect organ like kidney are on the rise, and sometime this leads to organ damage. Cloning can help replace the organ when damage. Thus, increasing life expectancy and healthy people.

On the other side of the argument, cloning has several negative consequences. First and foremost, cloning human and killing the cloned for use as organ donors is believed to be inhuman and wicked. Some religion frown at this idea and believed this act is against God. Their claim is that no human has the right to take the life of another. Secondly, how long do we want to continue cloning and when will it end? No one has been able to answer this question. Thus, this will lead to overpopulation of the earth as people leave forever. As a result, struggling for space and conflicts will become the order of the day.

To sum up, why some think cloning promote longevity, I am of the opinion that it is inhuman and could lead to overpopulation.