As the global population continues to rise, more and more cities are struggling with the issue of waste management. What are the main causes of this problem, and what solutions can be implemented to address it?

Nowadays, a number of cities are facing difficulties with the issues of waste management as the global population is constantly increasing.The main cause of this particular problem is lack of knowledge regarding waste segregation, thus educating people about waste segregation and management will help combat this issue.

There are numerous reasons leading to problems with waste management. A recent study showed that 73% of the population in Mumbai do not segregate their waste and thus proper disposal methods cannot be adopted. A survey was conducted that proved that people lack the knowledge on waste segregation . For example, separation of dry waste from wet waste will ultimately make it easier to treat and dispose of garbage.

In order to surpace this issue, People must be educated regarding the different types of waste, for example;dry waste ,wet waste, recyclable waste, electric waste and biohazardous waste. This is because each waste has to be treated and disposed off properly. For instance wet waste is often buried and used as manure, recycled waste is used to make recycled items and biohazardous wastes are usually incinerated. A research proved that a group of people who were educated about separation of their waste, did so and the area had no issues with disposing of waste.However another reasearch stated the opposite, which proved that people who had no education about waste management, dumped all their waste together and had no proper means of disposing it,thus leading to a major disaster.

In conclusion, although the world population in on a rise, bringing to light about the proper means of waste management will help combat the problem of improper waste management