As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has become increasingly common for people to access the news electronically rather than with traditional newspapers with many commentators suggest that this could mean the end for newspapers. I would agree with this and think that in the future newspapers will disappear.

Firstly, news accessed online is much more interaction than in a newspaper. Readers can comment on stories, and discussing items on message boards. Furthermore, many more photographs can included with a story with many sites even give readers the opportunity to upload their own photos and videos.

Secondly, news read on the internet are much more current than in a newspaper. It is possible for readers to read about stories as they happen and watch the development. This is compared with newspapers which only report on the previous days events. As a result, they seem increasingly dated even before they are on sale.

Finally, online news offer readers much more choice and a more information. It is possible to read the same story from a range of different sources on the internet. Some people suggest that this is better than only reading the story in one newspaper as you can compare different ones and have different viewpoints and the way stories are presented. This is compared with traditional newspapers which might only report one side of the story.

In conclusion, I would argue that in the future it will become increasingly difficult to sell newspapers. Because traditional newspapers will not be able to compete they will disappear.