As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, the exponential rise in the number of cars on the roads poses a substantial challenge for those in need for continuous expansion and maintenance of road systems. Debates throughout the world have been triggered by the topic of who should foot the bill for this increasing requirement. While some posit a user-centric finance model, others have a strong counter-statement, asserting that the government should bear the entire expense. In this composition, I espouse the latter notion regarding its emphasizing individual responsibility and the potential benefits of a user-funded model.

On the one hand, a proportion of the population opine that governments should flounder in their efforts to spare the expenses on road systems. The key rationale behind this lies in the fact that road infrastructure systems are a public good benefiting society as a whole, a strong road network stimulates economic expansion by drawing investments and creating an atmosphere that is favorable for company success. The possible positive externalities, like less traffic congestion and environmental advantages, that can advance the general welfare are also emphasized by proponents of government funding. However, it is the extravagant monetary costs of projects germane to road systems that render them feasible.To illustrate, a superhighway may incur 25000 dollars per mile for extension and an extra 100000 dollars for annual maintenance. By contrast, such perturbing cataclysm as, for example, poor children in remote areas appear to be poorly funded, thus remaining protractedly unsolved. If the budget allocation for the roads had been disbursed to ameliorate the lives of these indigent people in lieu of its original purposes, this line of reasoning carries weight.

On the other hand, users promotes the investigation of substitute forms of transportation. When expenses are placed directly on users, people are more inclined to think about taking the public transit, carpooling, or adopting eco-friendly travel practices. This contributes to reducing the environmental effects of an ever-growing fleet of vehicles, coupled with the global movement towards sustainable practices. Additionally, the revenue generated from user fees can be reinvested in improving public transportation options, ensuring that those who rely on affordable alternatives are not left at a disadvantage. Therefore, it is safe to say that the governmental financial emphasis on road networks is injudicious.

To recapitulate, although there are still some misgivings about both the aforementioned parties. I am convinced that individuals should put a premium on road systems for its market-driven mechanism that can effectively manage traffic demand and promote responsible transportation choices