As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this ever-changing society, as population grows, more and more cars are purchased; therefore, to facilitate this, a larger budget must be used on street networks. It is a matter of debate whether the cost of road improvements should be borne by citizens or the government. I personally believe that the latter has the responsibility to fund it.

On the one hand, it is clear that having the users pay would be beneficial in some ways. One potential benefit is that it fosters a sense of responsibility among drivers. Specifically, while they are participating in traffic, drivers would use the highway infrastructures they pay for more carefully in order not to cause any deterioration in them. To illustrate, people would carefully drive within the speed limit or attempt not to overload a road’s capacity. Consequently, a considerable reduction in road accidents could be expected, leading to fewer deaths and injuries. Another promising merit is that were the costs to be covered by citizens, the government would have additional funds available to be allocated for other priorities. For example, other sectors of the nation such as education, healthcare, industry or military can be thoroughly promoted by an expanded budget.

Nevertheless, I contend that the advantages of money spent by the government far outweigh those of the residents. One reason is that it is the responsibility of those who are in charge of the country to expend using the taxes they obtain from ordinary people such as VAT, personal income, etc. Therefore, they have a substantial revenue to facilitate improving road conditions which costs a great deal.

Furthermore, by leveraging its authority, the government is liable for developing a comprehensive strategy the construction of street infrastructures, especially when erecting at rugged terrains namely mountains or bodies of water. This would significantly enhance long-term efficiency while providing a pleasant experience when driving in them.

In conclusion, although it is true that beneficiary-pays systems offer certain potential advantages, I believe government funding is the more viable solution.