As the world population increases, genetically modified crops are becoming essential to meet rising demands for food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, scientists are concerned about the fast development of genetically modified crops, which are believed to result in numerous severe problems. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, there are various advantages of this type of crops. One of the most significant benefits is a higher yield. With the ability to adjust their characteristics, these plants can withstand harsh weather conditions, such as arid or high percipitation. For example, some maize nowadays are drought-tolerant, requiring less water, soil quality and pesticides than conventional crops. This serves as a lifeline for local people, especially in Africa. An abundant of crops can alleviate hunger and poverty rate in impoverished countries, which helps them to thrive economically later. Furthermore, these plants are believed to posess more nutritions. With the aids of scientists, crops can be altered to have desirable traits to reinforce customers’ overall well-being. For example, golden rice, which is engineered to contain more vitamin A and different substances, contributes to eliminate malnutrition in Asian.

On the other hand, genetically modified plants exert undisputed impacts. First and foremost, they can result in allergies. People are allergic to new crops might not recognize because of the DNA modification. Moreover, biotechnology companies may tamper with the gene of plants, introducing toxin to boost their products and maximize their revenues. These toxic substances are unobservable and can trigger new diseases, resistanting to antibiotics, which can be considered to have a prolonged impact on the public health and resources. Moreover, this trend can impair the biodiversity. For example, monoculture, with some plants are dominated, will reduce the diversity of organism. In the future, some pivotal species may face extinction due to the interruption of food chain and insufficient landscape to support their habitats.

In conclusion, while this trend is not without benefits, the drawbacks of genetically engineered crops are worth to be considered. In my opinion, strike a balance is the best approach. These argumemts corroborate the need of collective effort from the government and companies to establish policies and laws; therefore, the country can totally benefit those advantages of this trend.