Because many children are not able to learn foreign languages, schools should not force them to learn. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some individuals that students should not be forced to learn foreign languages in school due to being unable to learn them, a statement with which I strongly disagree because the ability of speaking foreign languages is quite crucial to have for people.

On the one hand, being able to communicate in a second or third language is always beneficial. This is because this capability enables individuals to talk to people who cannot speak their first language, and in today’s world, this has become quite important because the world is similar to a large town due to advancing technology, and individuals can interact with people from the other side of the world if they know foreign languages. For example, in Turkey, many people complain about being unable to speak English and its consequences, such as not understanding a majority of world’s population and sources of information in English.

On the other hand, in professional life, speaking certain languages, especially Arabic or Russian, provides career prospects. As is well known, today’s international companies and businesses require their employees to know at least three or more languages. Hence, in my view, in order to prepare our children to working life, schools should force them to learn foreign languages. In China, for instance, officials have implemented a new regulation which obliges students in primary education to be able to fluently speak Spanish at the end of their education. Consequently, according to recent research, the level of unemployment has significantly decreased in the country because of this development.

In conclusion, it has become a fact that knowing more than one language is fundamental in both personal and professional life. Therefore, I firmly believe that children should be compelled to acquire the skill of speaking different languages in school for their futures.