Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a prevalent issue surrounding import of food items for a long distance as part of global economy. While there are manifold benefits associated with this, there are also a few drawbacks that might be mentioned. This essay is dedicated to exploring the positives and challenges of food import and justification for my support why I believe the pros outstrip the cons.

The significance of availability of food items from any part of the world merits attention. We are offered with lot of choices which enable us to taste food cuisines from any country. This leads to spread of food culture to different countries. Furthermore, food items which cannot be produced in a country can be imported and distributed which ensure immigrants fed according to their tradition. Food import supported by latest transportation facilities plays a pivotal role in the economy of a country, as exemplified by the recent agricultural changes introduced to Kerala, a state in India by cultivating Kale.

However, there are downsides to food import. Pollution is the primary one and exhaust fume from transportation constitutes a profound percentage of the total pollution. In addition, one rationale behind the argument is use of preservatives. Food items has to be safeguarded from getting destroyed leveraging the advantages of preservatives. For instance, nowadays, ready to cook items are widely being used and this contains preservatives which are in some way hazardous to health in the long run. Nevertheless, the extent to which these items could impact human lives is contingent upon how we use these products.

Summing up, I reiterate my opinion that the merits of food import overpower the demerits. Although there are a few demerits like pollution and usage of preservatives, the significance of food import enable human welfare to explore food from all over the world.