Being hard-working should be the number one factor in promotions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Hard-working employees often stand out from their colleagues due to the effort they put in their job. I believe that this substantially increases their chances to be promoted, yet it is not always the key factor. Making smart and swift decisions is a skill employees value no less than being hard-working.

Spending more time on a particular problem often leads to a more precise solution. To be promoted to a higher position, the worker should come up with a solution that not only meets the task requirements, but also provides invaluable insights that can contribute to the project in further development stages. Consider a situation when a long-term task with many details is given to two colleagues. One will take his time to comprehend the task’s granularity and might even work over-time to present different ideas, while the other will solve the problem without any further improvements. Undoubtly, the former’s approach will be appreciated more.

Nevertheless, it is not always the case when the task deadline allows the employee to thoroughly analyze it and spend the amount of time that he/she would need to complete it. Nowadays during the recruitment process, employers evaluate candidates’ abilities such as decision-making and quick-thinking, along with technical skills. For instance, in unexpected cases, the worker should propose different solutions in a short period. Delving into details and spending more time to think of the best solution would not be acceptable by the staff. This way of thinking would elevate the employee’s chances to be promoted, compared to hard-workers.

To conclude, hard work is definitely appreciated by staff members and can lead to promotion in a shorter period. However, being open-minded and quicker than opponents in work environment can make this process much faster. The employee having all of these might not only have a chance of promotions, but will also be looked for by employers from other companies.