Being hard-working should be the number one factor in promotions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many contemporary workplaces, the criteria for promotion often lead to discussion. While I acknowledge that hard work is one of the crucial qualifications in business, there are some other significant factors that help to get career advancement.

To start with, hard work may encourage employees in the workplace. For example, if a worker stays late in order to enhance the project, it will be a good example and motivate personnel. In addition, this may contribute to the growth of the company.

However, working hard is not the only key factor for getting a promotion. In modern era, business world requires you to have some more qualifies for job. Skills like creativity and problem solving are necessary for higher position. Even though an employee may work long hours, they may lack the ability to lead to a team or come up with new ideas. Moreover, teamwork is important for jobs today. Collaborating with teammates is an inevitable part of the job. In my opinion, most of these features are not about being diligent, many factors are about character and talent.

In conclusion, dedicating a lot of time to a job may not work every time. At the same time, people should improve their abilities and ideas in order to survive in business. Because of living in the 21st century, it is feasible to find easier ways to develop our career life. Although working hard is one of the ways to be productive, if you have an opportunity to use a lift to get to the top floor, using stairs will be just wasting of the time.