Biotechnology companies all over the world are developing different types of genetically modified (GM) crops. However, not enough is known about these crops on our health and environment. Interfering with nature in this way should be prohibited. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

As the population of people has been on a constant increase for several decades all over the world, food scarcity has become a serious problem, which made scientists introduce genetically modified crops that are causing a lot of debate.

While some people claim these crops are innocuous, there are those who question the safety of such technologies, which tamper with Mother Nature. This paper is aimed to examine both sides of the argument.

It is unarguable that crops which have undergone genetic modification play a crucial role in solving world hunger and enhancing food quality. A major point to consider is by altering the genetic code of food, we can improve the nutritional value and speed up the growth process. Therefore, having a larger crop output in a short period of time and more nutritious products will significantly help in solving food scarcity and malnutrition. Another notable argument in favour of biotechnology is food condition. Extended shelf life is especially favorable to supermarkets, thus lowering the chances of them going bad and rotting.

On the other hand, substantial concerns have been raised regarding health issues and ecosystem damage. First and foremost, multiple studies conducted on baby rats showed that constant genetically modified food consumption can lead to damage of internal organs such as lungs and ovaries. Moreover, they have not reached the size of normal rats, raising more concerns regarding genetic modification. It is just a matter of time before newborns become victims of such side effects. Not only that, but it could also contribute to the disappearing diversity of plants and beneficial insects. To back up those claims with facts, the heavy use of such crops like corn and soy wiped out milkweed plants, which are the exclusive food source for Monarch caterpillars. All of this is because of cross-pollination, a process where bees carry pollen from modified fields to nearby forests.

In conclusion, the benefits of genetic modification are impressive and could possibly be a solution to global issues, making a total ban on such technologies impractical. However, it is crucial that we understand the potential health hazards and unpredictable environmental risks it can carry.