Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that online shopping is becoming increasingly prevalent. While this trend may indeed have some potential drawbacks, they are overshadowed by its significant benefits.

On the one hand, Internet shopping presents several drawbacks. One major concern is the risk of personal information disclosure. This is because online shoppers do not properly implement information security measures, creating opportunities for scammers scamming the money under the name of shippers or using the revealed information for illegal commerce. As a result, these users might lose a large sum of money or even important accounts such as bank accounts. Another downside is unnecessary purchases. This means that internet shopping allows users to buy any products quickly and conveniently, therefore, they tend to spend money constantly without considering the purposes. Consequently, they might overspend on needless products, leading to financial decline and waste of money.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned drawbacks, I maintain that online shopping offers greater overall benefits. One key advantage is that it positively develops the economy. This means e-shopping has updated the way people purchase, allowing customers to access products conveniently and fastly, thus increasing shopping demand. In other words, new companies and brands will increasingly be established and developed to meet the customers demands. As a result, it promotes the total revenue in shops which are in remote areas or hardly accessible and also supports start-up businesses. Another advantage is that home shopping creates employment opportunities. For example, rising purchase demand requires more shippers and post offices so that people can receive their orders quickly. As a result, it increases part-time job availability for unemployed people, especially for university students who need to earn money to cover tuition fees.

In conclusion, while shopping on the Internet may create some challenges, its overall benefits are more substantial, especially in terms of economic growth.