Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is undeniable that the ownership of cars around the world has grown significantly over the latest 30-year-period. In response to this case, I personally argue that governments as a regulator need to create more established regulations in regards to reducing the number of people using private cars.

There are several criterias to help governments in taking decisions on car ownership policies. One of the most compelling measurements is by increasing the car ownership tax. Starting with a simple yet impactful regulation, this will lead people to think twice before they buy a new car. Furthermore, they may not want to pay for additional fees if it is only for the tax which is something they probably would not enjoy the impacts directly.

On the other hand, the governments also have to build more sustainable and integrated public transport infrastructures to avoid people using their private cars. Instead of constructing new highways or new flyovers which will only be beneficial for some groups of people, from my point of view, it is better for them to facilitate the citizens with transit oriented development projects, particularly the construction of mass rapid transportation. As a result, people will leave their lifestyle in owning cars and change their decisions to use public transportations.

In summary, I believe it would be an obligation for governments to provide regulations that are established and have a strong position in the society as well such as adding the amount of tax for private transportation ownership and focusing on transit oriented development cities that will be more effective for the city future endeavors.