Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem. What are the causes and what solutions can be suggested?

The rising number of excessively overweight children is turning into a chronic issue across the globe. This is mainly because of unhealthy diets and a sedentary life style. To address this problem, several feasible solutions can be implemented, such as modifying their eating habits and encouraging them to participate in sports classes.

In today’s busy world, most family members have a career that occupies a significant portion of their time. Consequently, they often do not have enough time to prepare meals at home, and therefore, they opt for fastfood due to its convenience. Undoubtedly, although this type of food tastes terrific, it is high in calories and fat. Moreover, the wide availability of junk food tempts children to consume it on various occasions from school break to their leisure time, contributing to obesity especially among children. In addition, childhood obesity stems from the modern hobbies that children tend to choose. Unlike in the past that children were interested in outdoor activities, many nowadays are addicted to online games and spending hours scrolling through the internet, both of which result in a lifestyle with little physical activity.

Families can play a significant role in tackling this issue by improving children’s diet by encouraging them to consume more vegetables and fruits instead of junk food, minimizing the consumption of fastfood and prioritise home-made food. parents can also help children to manage their free time by involving them in sports and active hobbies. However, all of these actions ought to be implemented in ways that are appealing to children, so they remain motivated and are more likely to pursue it in the long term.

In conclusion, being overweight among children be mainly fueled by opting for dining more commercially prepared meals, and the modern sedantery activities that children are enaged with. Nevertheless, several effective solutions exist, such as encouraging children to excercise regularly and participating in outdoor activities, in addition to adopt healthier eating habits.