Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV programmes and that this method should be encouraged both at home and at school. I agree with this view to some extent, although I think that TV can be educational, it shouldn’t replace traditional forms of learning.

Admittedly, visual and auditory learning play a valuable role in children’s educational processes. Educational TV contents such as, animation, diagrams, and explanations can help children to understand complex concepts more easily. This type of learning also stimulate visual understanding, enhances multicultural awareness and broadens children’s horizons. Science channels like National Geographic for example can help children understand animals and nature better, while also teaching kindness and responsibility towards the environment.

Nevertheless, excessive and irresponsible use of television and technology may have negative effect on both mental and physical health of students. Not all TV contents are educational and overreliance on screens may reduce children’s concentration and academic motivation, and too much screen time encourages a sedentary lifestyle which can lead to health issues like obesity. Inappropriate contents like entertainment focused are unsuitable for educational purposes and may increase stress rather than supporting. In many developed countries, to response these concerns, governments have encouraged schools and families to maintain a balance between traditional learning methods and modern teaching tools.

To conclude, although educational TV programmes can support children’s learning, they should not replace educational education activities such as reading, writing, and discussion, which are remain important for children’s intellectual development.