‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s fast-paced world, younger generations do not respect their parents as the older generations, leading to a negative impact on society. This change can be due to several factors such as lack of parental control or increase reliance on technology. This essay will explore the reasons behind this phenomenon.

On one hand, parents have hectic work schedules, which is an important reason to highlight. Parents struggle to have a perfect work-life balance. Due to this, parents often spend most of their day at work(offices), leaving little or no time to spend with their loved ones, specifically children. This develops into the failure to have a parent-child relationship and to be emotionally connected to the child. Children crave and want attention, and this void and absence of emotional and moral support can have a detrimental impact on their bond with their parents.

On the other hand, the increased use of technology is a result of this former problem. Parents are usually exhausted after a hectic work day and have no patience to deal with kids after. Spoiling them with expensive gifts like electronic gadgets, iPads, and Xbox saves them time to focus on themselves and household chores while distracting children to play.

Futhermore, another reason is the increase in the number of students going to study abroad. With an abundance of independence, children become more outspoken and do not appreciate or respect their parents. More freedom in a new country affects their way of thinking.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that older generations inculcated better values and respected their parents unlike the younger generations. Parents work schedules, increased use of electronic gadges or social media and moving to foreign countries can have a negative impact on the society as a whole.