‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days we see that some children seems to show less respect to their parents compared to the past. This behaviour has negative impacts on society.

from my personal opinion, this issue may caused by a lot of aspect firstly different culture have bigger influence on this matter other than that the influence of social media and the parenting itself.

as we know nowdays the access of social media is very simple and easy, everyone who have a smart device can easily access social media, even some children has been exposed to social media in such young age, the content they have seen from social media then influence on how they behave towards other people, mainly their primary carer which are their parents. as we know that some content on social media are not friendly for children, without any proper supervision, this can be harmful for them as they do not have the understanding yet, as children tend to copy what they see or hear.

other than social media, parenting style itself has change. many parents nowdays choose gentle parenting for their children, where they refrain to give their children “punishment” or simply said no when their children did something unacceptable. but i feel like some parents has taken the meaning of gentle parenting wrong, they fogetting about the boundaries they should have had with their children, so the children will understand which behaviour is acceptable and which is not. but because the parents could not set a boundary with their children, they end up letting their child do whatever they wanted, they can also get anything they wanted so they do not have the understanding that their behaviour is acceptable or not.

as an educator, i feel like this has impacted my job. i feel like some children not showing respect to educator, or even not listening to our direction because they feel like they don’t need to as they don’t usually showing respect to their parents either. we can change this by giving them the understanding and expectations on their bevaiour.