Some people think that cars should be banned for reducing pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In the modern era, some people argue that we should discourage owning a car in order to sustain the environment. From my perspective, I believe that discouraging use of personal cars will help to curb pollution and encourage use of public transport.

To begin with, vehicles burn fossil fuels during combustion hence releasing carbon (iv) oxide to the atmosphere. These gases form greenhouse gases. They trap heat leading to global warming. However, when people stop using their vehicle pollution will decline. Consequently, the quality of air will increase and climate change will be controlled. For instance, in Kenya, the authorities imposed tarrifs on private vehicles. As s result, the number of vehicles being driven reduced drastically.

Furthermore, the government should encourage public transport by making it affordable, bus fares and tickets should be economical, thus travelers will prefer public means since they will save on cost of petrol. Additionally, it must be reliable, buses and trains should run on the scheduled time, in order to avoid delays and inconveniences. Finally, individuals should be able to access transport in different areas. A pertinent example is the increase in number of buses and trains in the UK. Therefore, decrease in urban emmissions.

In conclusion, discouraging use of personal cars and enhancing public transport will aid in mitigating pollution.