Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age 5 or 6, right up until age of 18. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

In this modern era, starting from the kindergarten, children are imposed to enroll for the regular tests and exams till the end of the education. This statement has both merits and demerits, which are elaborated further with examples.

There are several advantages surface to this notion. First and foremost, exams are considered as one of the optimal ways to test a student’s knowledge about the particular subject. Thus, if exams are scheduled regularly for children starting from the young age, they will get familiar with it and opt for the tests and exams fearlessly. Apart from this, exams or weekly tests create a competitive environment among the students help them to put extra efforts to stand out from others in class. For instance, teachers also able to report the attention paid by a kid during class via regular tests.

On the other hand, sometimes more and more test and exams can be disadvantages for offsprings in various ways. Firstly, one paper cannot decide the future of a child. To explain, sometimes for an average student exam becomes a pressure in life, which generates negative thoughts about getting failed and trolled by surroundings. For example, in one research, it is reported that every year in India more than 20000 students up to first suicide after failing an exam. Moreover, a student who is excellent in other sectors – such as arts, music or theatre – does not get enough time and necessary practice due to the school or University exams. This, in turn, affects an intellectual development of a child and an opportunity to fulfill the dream of becoming an artist.

To conclude, although there are positive aspects of giving exams for knowledge test and stay in competition, there are some negative points as well, such as fear of getting failed and a barrier for children’s intellectual growth.