Children nowadays are having difficulties in paying attention at school. Causes and solutions?

Many students struggle to stay focused at school. The main reasons for students not paying attention at school are that many scholars are distracted by their phones and lessons are sometimes boring. On the other hand, to solve these problems, schools can limit phone use during lessons, and especially for teachers, they can include more physical activities.

One of the main reasons why students struggle to pay attention is that they are often distracted by their phones. Schoolchildren may not pay attention to the theme that they have due to many of them spending time playing games or scrolling social media during the lessons, which may often lead to losing attention at lectures and sometimes misunderstandings with teachers. In particular, learners may sometimes scroll media or research some highlights through their phones during the lessons while the teacher is explaining new material or providing information about deadlines for school exams. Therefore, young people should be banned from using their smartphones during the lessons to help them stay focused while the lesson is in progress. Another significant reason why students do not pay attention at school is that lessons can sometimes be boring. Teachers may often provide lessons which are mainly related to focusing solely on reading, which leads students to lose their concentration, or long reading lessons often make many students sleepy. Classes, for instance, might be boring due to a lack of information or some themes may be done by students, and explaining the same topic for the whole lesson without doing any interactive activities. Thus, lessons should not be only related to reading courses, which causes students to lose attention; instead, they should incorporate some facilities to bring students’ attention.

To solve these problems, several activities should be done, such as schools limiting phone use during lessons, and especially for teachers, they can include more physical activities. Phones often distract students, making it hard for them to focus on the lesson and fully understand the material, so directors or the government have to provide fines for not using phones during lessons. When schools or governments implement rules that prevent students from using phones in classes, students will spend more time listening to the teachers and participating in activities. Therefore, limiting phone use during lessons can improve students’ attention and help them learn more effectively. Another solution to help students stay focused is for teachers to include more physical activities. Short breaks and movement exercises can refresh students’ minds and increase their concentration during lessons. Teachers can ask students to do a quick stretch or provide some interaction between scholars and teachers, and a short group activity between reading tasks. As a result, students feel more awake and are able to pay better attention throughout the lesson.