Children nowadays are having difficulties in paying attention at school. Causes and solutions?

Students finding it hard to pay attention in school is one of the most common issues, and it appears from different causes. This essay will discuss the rationale behind this phenomenon and then offer some feasible solutions to it.

There are several factors responsible for student cannot concentrate on learning. To begin with, the teaching method in many schools does not sufficiently capture students’ attention. Because the lessons are taught in a one-way manner, students just copy down the words from a handout. This leads to a lack of interaction in the classroom, causing a negative learning situation, such as drowsiness and private conversations. Another point worth mentioning is that children are addicted to phones and social media. Currently, they are exposed to short videos and temporary information, which is why their brain use more energy for surfing, leading to rapid boredom and slow learning. Meanwhile, a course lasts just 45 minutes, requiring sustainable concentration that such students have not practiced.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be adopted by schools and parents to tackle the situation. Chief among these is that schools should introduce new teaching methods for teachers fitting with students, for instance, they should print some vibrant pictures relevant to the animals and trees when learning about the natural habitats. Moreover, thanks to the appealing games, students find it easy to adopt the lesson. The second approach could be for parents to let children participate in outdoor activities, enhancing their problem-solving skills and analytical thinking. As a result, children can pay attention to the lesson more easily without being forced by their parents and school.