Children nowadays are having difficulties in paying attention at school. Causes and solutions?

In recent years, there have been many obstacles for students to focus on their studying at school. The roots and methods for this trend will be discussed further in a parallel manner in this essay.

Unlike previous generations, who did not experience technology innovations and state-of-the-art devices such as mobile phones, laptops, and televisions, the youngsters have been disturbed by those devices in their daily life, rendering not paying attention at school. Because entertainment is one of the main purposes for the development of the technology, many social media such as TikTok, Instagram, and Facebook have arisen, which distract users from their working and studying life. Students prefer scrolling on these applicants which interest them rather than doing homework or taking tedious lessons in their class. To tackle this cause, intervention of parents and teachers is a vital requirement. Parents must know when their children reach maturity to allow them to use phones and other devices while teachers need to oversee their students in class and collaborate with adults to manage them. Furthermore, children should be educated how to use these tools for more practical purposes, supporting them to obtain novel insights through search bars on the internet and AI assistants.

Another disturbance for this trend is a pressure children have to endure in their grade schools or even universities and colleges. In many families, adults obligate their sons and daughters to study harder in order to have a better job and earn great salaries. Therefore, many children have to race to success when they were just light hearted children, so instead of having a comfortable life, children are often tired. As a result, this problem exerts a negative influence on their performance at school such as not paying attention and not making a right decision. To address this problem, there should be an imminent change in parents’ mind that grade and competition are not crucial aspects defining a child. Parents should give their children opportunities to participate in many social activities in order to not only enhance other interpersonal skills, but also reduce stress and anxiety.

In conclusion, distractions from many technological devices and pressure have deprived children from paying attention at school. However, it is never too late to tackle this problem through adults’ guidance.