Children nowadays watch TV programmes more than ever before. Is watching television good or bad for children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the modern era, there is no denying that technological advancements have led to a significant increase in the screen time children spend watching television programs. While viewing television yields profound benefits to youngsters, it also triggers considerable drawbacks. This essay will examine the primary advantages and disadvantages of this trend, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, television programs bring educational and cognitive merits to children. Firstly, viewing television programs provide young individuals with new information, which directly enhance their academic results. Secondly, children can absorb useful knowledge via practical programs that contain diverse cultural and language content. Thirdly, television programs not only offer the enhancement of memory, attention, and problem-solving skills, but also stimulate mental growth through engaging content for children.

On the other hand, television programs cause physical, mental, developmental, and behavioral issues. Firstly, excessive television programs watching can lead to health issues like childhood obesity and contribute to a sedentary lifestyle. Secondly, children watch harmful content such as violent, sexual, and inappropriate material, which cause potential effects on mental health and emotional well-being. Thirdly, excessive television watching has adverse impacts on children’s behavior and social skills. Therefore, if concerns about this problem are not addressed, children may become increasingly aggressive and lose focus on span due to television. Finally, viewing TV does not foster reciprocal communication, reducing their ability to develop vital social skills, such as active listening and emotional understanding.

In conclusion, while watching television programs provides children with educational and cognitive value, it also triggers physical, mental, developmental, and behavioral issues by many noticeable factors. However, children still can balance between good and bad by a means of building a suitable schedule, whereas their parent should appropriately manage activities in terms of overall development. Therefore, the amount of time allocated for TV enjoyment should be strictly monitored due to its inhibiting effects on juvenile mental and physical growth.