Children nowadays watch TV programmes more than ever before. Is watching television good or bad for children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent times, youngsters spend more time than ever on television. The argument that watching tv programmes has both good and bad effects on children. Both views will be thoroughly analyzed and discussed in this essay before presenting a reasoned conclusion.

On one hand, there are several advantageous that can take from tv channels’ activities to students. Firstly, if they focus more on educational programmes while they watching tv, a lot of important facts can be learned. For example, by watching a science fiction cartoon, kids will be able to gain knowledge about basic scientific phenomena. Secondly, pupils can learn a secondary language if they watch foreign language programmes on regular basis. To cite an example, in Sri Lanka, parents allow their babies to watch English cartoons as English is a crucial language for their future. This why it can be argued that television makes positive impacts on the younger generation.

On the other hand, some argue that spending more time on tv is harmful for scholars. Because, wasting too much time on television causes the poor performance in academic. For instance, in Sri Lanka, the majority of school children addict to cartoons and waste their whole evening by entertaining them. Moreover, some are used to watch adult programmes, such as teledramas, tv series, movies, and try to apply those things in to their practical lives, which can endanger their lives. Therefore, it is clear that there are adverse things due to tv programmes.

In conclusion, while both favourables and unfavourables are there in watching television, harmful effects are more significant. This is because children easily adopt bad things when they have little motivation towards them and waste their precious time for nothing while they should spend it on their education and physical well-being.