Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child’s academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child’s later academic achievements?

Often children who excel in their studies are known to have learned to read from an early age. We can very clearly link a child’s good grades to his reading habits which were formed at a very early age. Vocabulary is one of the most important skills that is developed through reading. When reading new books, children are exposed to unfamiliar words that they can look up in a dictionary. This allows them to expand their vocabulary. For example, children who read books as children have a much more developed vocabulary than children who have read little.

Another skill that children hone through reading is their ability to understand and visualize. By reading different books, children tend to understand different stories and morals. This gives them a foundation to understand the subject matter more easily. For example, children need to understand and visualize various physical theorems and laws in pictures. When they have experience understanding the plots of novels they will have a better understanding of such physical theorems and laws.

In addition to reading skills, math is a great skill to develop in early school age. We can introduce young children to various math puzzles in the form of games. This will develop their ability to think outside the box. They will be able to look for different approaches to solving a problem, and this will be an invaluable skill for school. Let’s take me as an example when I was young, my parents often played games with me where I had to solve various simple problems. When I came to school, math was my favorite subject as it was very easy for me.

Reading and analytical skills are essential skills that children need to develop at a very early age to climb the ladder of success.