Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child’s academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child’s later academic achievements?

It is commonly believed that as many books a child reads as smarter he becomes, following this belief, parents try to put their kids on reading books and being a bookworm. Let’s first discuss if it’s true that reading books improves children’s intelligence and cleverness. You see, reading books on a daily basis turns children’s grammar more expanded. Reading books makes their mindset a lot more creative. But many parents make huge mistakes while trying to teach their kids to read books. First of all, parents should find a book about a topic or a hobby their kid is interested in, forcing children to read would be considered the worst mistake because what kids don’t like is being forced to do some certain things they don’t enjoy doing. It is better to softly let kids know about the books of their interests and offer them to check it out, this way, children will get interested in the book by their own will.

Students who have read a lot of books in their childhood tend to show better results than other students, but why? Kids who have known books from an early age, usually find school subjects easier because they are used to the printed format of information and enjoy it a lot, as it was announced in the first article, books make kids smarter than other kids their age. So they just do better in school subject terms and find it more simple.

Conclusion: Reading books in fact does bring kids good qualities but parents should know how to introduce books to their kids.