Cities should prioritise parks rather than housing housing developments. To what extent do you agree?

Whether the government should invest in creating green urban cities or improving housing has always been a topic of debate. In my opinion, both aspects contribute to the development of the cities in different ways and authorities should not focus solely on any of them.

Regarding placing green spaces in cities , there are many benefits that this act can bring about. First, it can improve the air quality. Trees can absorb toxic factory gas and exhausted fumes so designing the streets with greenery and constructed parks will help clean the cities’ air. As a result, residents can avoid respiratory diseases and have better health. Second, building parks and planting trees can elevate the cities’ landscapes. Urban cities images are often filled with concrete jungle, which makes many people feel overwhelmed, but replacing some buildings with parks and providing lines of trees along the road will make it look more refreshing and comfortable. Moreover, if the urban cities are well planned, it can attract many tourists. For instance, many people visit Nanjing Wutong Avenue in China to see the road filled with green parasol trees.

In terms of investing in housing projects, it can alleviate homelessness. If governments build more houses with nearly free of charge, homeless people won’t have to stay in the streets anymore. This can guarantee social security for all citizens, including the most disadvantaged. Therefore, cities’ citizens will have more belief and commitment for the authorities. Another advantage of developing housing is supporting young people. These housing projects can help them to get an accommodation with a lower price, where they can settle in the earlier stage of life and focus on their career and family. This will result in the growth of cities’ economy and citizens’ better education.

In short, building parks and planting trees can improve cities’ air and landscape while developing housing can help the citizens feel more secure and boost the economy. Only by distributing budget and resources fairly on both aspects can create an ideal city.