Communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think that this will be the death of grammar and spelling. Do you agree or disagree?

Texting and other alternative ways of communicating online are considered a worldwide phenomenon in today’s society. In fact, these quick and fundamental ways are reinforcing some individuals’ beliefs that grammar and spelling are vanishing. I staunchly agree that the development of online communication is getting rid of the standard structure of a sentence.

To begin with, short forms of texting can potentially create a bad habit to users. People have a tendency to reduce the length of texts which sometimes eventually causes misunderstandings. For instance, individuals are using more acronyms in their texts, some of them which can be tough to comprehend. Moreover, reducing a few alphabets in messaging can briefly hinder the ability to text accurately. The development of social apps that involve online contacts are witnessing more and more spelling and grammar mistakes. Studies have shown that more than 80 percent of users who use online platforms have writing errors due to the use of words in their short forms.

Having said that, a minority of people claim that abbreviative forms of texts can be useful in some cases. Shortened words are quick to text and understandable in daily communication. However, this explanation is not reinforced by the facts that they cannot be used in formal situations. For example, there is an unspoken rule that strictly forbid the use of acronyms in applications, contracts and other types of written communication.

To conclude, I am firmly convinced that there is no doubt for several ways of online communication can lead to syntax and spelling issues. In addition, the use of acronyms should also be limited in any cases.